Online Resources (Public Databases)
The library subscribes to several online resources that are available at no charge to you anywhere and anytime with a personal computer and Internet access. The following key explains how patrons may access these sites outside the library:
- Books and Reading
- Business and Marketing Resources
- Career and Resume Resources
- Homework and Learning
- Legal Resources
- Local History and Genealogy
- Research Databases
- Tech Help and Computer Literacy
Your library card number can be found under the barcode on the back of your library card, and your Personal Identification Number (PIN) is the last four digits of your card number.
America’s News
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including The Journal-Standard, Rockford Register Star, and USA Today. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Ancestry Library Edition
Resources for genealogical research including U.S. federal census records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, New York and other passenger records and selected records from the United Kingdom and Ireland. In addition, Ancestry covers African-American records and Ancestry World Tree gives Family Trees. Its U.S. Obituary Collection covers obituaries in recent U.S. newspapers.
BiblioBoard
Inspired by Chicago Children’s Museum’s mission to improve children’s lives by creating a community where play and learning connect, this anthology includes a variety of engaging and interactive books. From classics to the hidden gems, from art to science, from bedtime stories to chapter books, activity books and more, these books are perfect for reading with your favorite tots, toddlers and tweens.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a consumer-oriented health and wellness database from EBSCO. This database is designed to help users research key health and wellness topics and contains full text from leading health journals and magazines. Other resources available through Consumer Health Complete include health reference e-books, evidence-based health reports, medical images and diagrams.
ConsumerReports.org
Consumer Reports is an independent and nonprofit organization that provides product reviews on cars, appliances, electronics and more. Access full-text articles (1991 to present).
eReading Room for Kids
Download kid-friendly e-book or e-audio book titles day or night – your library never sleeps! Listen to them on your MP3 player or transfer them to a compatible e-reader. Teen and adult downloadable resources are not included. These are available only to Freeport library cardholders.
eReading Room for Teens
Download teen-friendly e-book or e-audio book titles day or night – your library never sleeps! Listen to them on your MP3 player or transfer them to a compatible e-reader. These are available only to Freeport library cardholders.
Explora for Middle and High School
Designed specifically for middle school, Explora Middle School is a full-text database of popular magazines, reference books, and primary sources covering many subjects, including history, science, and health. It also includes over a million photos, maps, and flags.
Explora for Public Libraries
Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. For students of all ages, Explora allows users to easily search across a range of sources including newspapers and magazines, encyclopedias, dictionaries, books, biographies and more. Current events, arts, biography, business and careers, culture, geography, health, literature and science are just a few of the topics covered.
For teachers, it also includes lesson plans, professional development material and a Curriculum Standards Module.
Federal Government Resources
Freeport Public Library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Access the Federal Depository Library Basic Collection for more information about “the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government.”