Online Resources (Public Databases)

The library subscribes to several online resources that are available at no charge to you anywhere and anytime with a personal computer and Internet access. The following key explains how patrons may access these sites outside the library:

Your library card number can be found under the barcode on the back of your library card, and your Personal Identification Number (PIN) is the last four digits of your card number.

Illinois State Archives

This is a free site on Illinois history or genealogy. It lists Civil War and other Military Records, Public Domain Land Tract Sales, IL Statewide Marriage Index 1763 – 1900, IL Statewide Death Index Pre-1916, IL Statewide Death Index 1916 – 1950.

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest OnlineTM combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with access to selected U.S. Federal Census Records (1790-1930); thousands of family and local history books; and a comprehensive subject index of over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles.

GCF LearnFree.org

The Goodwill Community Foundation used grants to develop short tutorials to help develop skills necessary for everyday living from using a microwave to counting pills to using a digital camera. It is available to anyone with access to a computer and the Internet.

Newsbank Newspaper Article Database

Search the archives of the Freeport Journal-Standard from 2002 – current. You can browse today’s news or search for stories, obituaries, sports, columns, and more. Available from home or inside the library.

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. The records span billions of names across hundreds collections – including birth, marriage, death, probate, land, military, IGI extracted, and more. It is a service provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

eReading Room for Teens

Download teen-friendly e-book or e-audio book titles day or night – your library never sleeps! Listen to them on your MP3 player or transfer them to a compatible e-reader. These are available only to Freeport library cardholders.

eReading Room for Kids

Download kid-friendly e-book or e-audio book titles day or night – your library never sleeps! Listen to them on your MP3 player or transfer them to a compatible e-reader. Teen and adult downloadable resources are not included. These are available only to Freeport library cardholders.

ConsumerReports.org

Consumer Reports is an independent and nonprofit organization that provides product reviews on cars, appliances, electronics and more. Access full-text articles (1991 to present).

BiblioBoard

Inspired by Chicago Children’s Museum’s mission to improve children’s lives by creating a community where play and learning connect, this anthology includes a variety of engaging and interactive books. From classics to the hidden gems, from art to science, from bedtime stories to chapter books, activity books and more, these books are perfect for reading with your favorite tots, toddlers and tweens.

Ancestry Library Edition

Resources for genealogical research including U.S. federal census records, military records, the Social Security Death Index, New York and other passenger records and selected records from the United Kingdom and Ireland. In addition, Ancestry covers African-American records and Ancestry World Tree gives Family Trees. Its U.S. Obituary Collection covers obituaries in recent U.S. newspapers.